Changes to the CA Vehicle Code for 2018
I’m Ed Smith, a Personal Injury Lawyer in Antioch. If you want to avoid starting the new year with a ticket, you may want to brush up on some of the changes to the CA Vehicle Code for 2018 enacted by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to take effect the first of January. The new year will come with a few more rules and fees, so be ready to get on board or pony up. Below are just a handful of the new laws that we will see in the new year.
California Traffic Laws to Take Effect 2018
- Prohibited cannabis use inside motor vehicles: Both drivers and passengers alike will be expected to not smoke or consume any form of marijuana while inside a car. Violation of this law will result in negligent operator points.
- Enforcement of seat belt use on buses: All bus passengers must be securely fastened with a seat belt. As of July 1, 2018, any violation will result in a fine and an additional infraction.
- New DUI standards to drive with a passenger: Drivers will now be required to have a BAC of 0.03% or lower in order to drive a personal motor vehicle with an on-board passenger. DUI conviction will result in a suspension or disqualification of your driver’s license.
- Parking violation conditions for driver’s license issuance: This law will prevent those with unpaid parking tickets and/or other fees from registering or renewing their driver’s license, until those fees are paid off. However, low-income Californians who are a registered owner or need a renewed license will be able file for Planned Non-Operation status if they have current parking penalties.
- Motorcyclist training certificate: People of 21 years or older will be able to apply for a motorcycle license without taking the motorcycle skills test. However, they will have to provide proof of satisfactory completion of a motorcycle training institution approved by the California Highway Patrol (CHP).
- New restrictions of the disabled person parking placard: There will be a limit of four replacement placards in the span of two years without evidence of an updated medical certification.
- Transportation improvement fee: The new requirement will include paying a transportation improvement fee that is based on the sum of your motor vehicle’s current market value. This fee will be paid during vehicle registration or renewal, ranging from $25-$175.
- Private carrier regulation: As of July 1, 2018, the DMV will impose regulation on private motor carriers of passengers.
- California firefighter license plate qualification: Family members of a fallen firefighter will qualify to purchase their very own California firefighter license plate.
Related Content from Antioch Personal Injury Lawyer, Ed Smith:
- Antioch Accident Statistics
- Chain-Reaction Accident on Highway 4 in Antioch Injures 14
- 4 People Injured after Antioch Collision
Experienced Personal Injury Lawyer in Antioch
I’m Ed Smith, an Antioch Personal Injury Lawyer. The consequences of an accident can be devistating. If you or someone you love was injured in an accident caused by the negligence of another party, I can help. Please do not hesitate to call me at (925) 428-5220 or (800) 404-5400 for free and friendly advice. I can also be contacted on the web at AutoAccident.com.
I am honored to be counted among members of the Million Dollar Forum. This group is reserved for trial lawyers who have won or settled cases for proceeds in excess of $1,000,000.
A selection of my past Verdicts and Settlements are posted in summary on my website.