Hit and Run Driver Apprehended in Folsom
I’m Ed Smith, a Folsom car accident lawyer. A hit and run driver allegedly struck and killed a man in Folsom recently. Evidence at the scene led police to the driver’s home where an arrest was made.
Details of the Accident
The accident happened sometime before 2:30 in the morning. The victim, 41, was found on the road in the vicinity of Oak Avenue Parkway on East Bidwell Street where he was pronounced dead by emergency responders. No one witnessed the accident, however, according to officials, material at the site of the accident pointed to a Chevrolet Cruze as the vehicle that struck the victim. The 2014 motor vehicle was linked to an address in Folsom. Justin Greene, a resident of the city, was at the address and was taken into custody with charges of manslaughter by a motor vehicle and hit and run. Folsom police believe Greene was impaired when the accident occurred. He is at the county jail in Sacramento.
Vehicular Manslaughter in California
California penal code 192 defines vehicular manslaughter as operating a motor vehicle that causes the death of another person whether a trucker, motorcyclist, bicycle rider or a pedestrian with or without gross negligence. It may involve the commission of a lawful or unlawful act such as drunk driving.
Penalties for Vehicular Manslaughter
Vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence can be either a felony or charged as a misdemeanor. If a felony, the penalties are jail time of two to six years in state prison and a $10,000 fine. On the other hand, if it is charged as a misdemeanor, jail time can be up to a one year sentence in the county jail and also a fine of $1,000.
Vehicular manslaughter without gross negligence is penalized as up to one year in county jail and a fine of $1,000. If the person is convicted of vehicular manslaughter for financial gain, a two to six year term in state prison with a $10,000 fine is levied. Licence revocation occurs when a person is convicted of vehicular manslaughter for financial gain or vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence as a felony.
Hit and Run
Leaving the scene of an accident after property is damaged or an individual is hurt or killed is defined as hit and run. If property is damaged and the defendant leaves the scene, the crime is usually considered a misdemeanor. The person responsible for the accident must leave their name and address and the name of the owner of the vehicle with the person who owns the damaged property or, if no one is present, a note can be left. If asked for proof of a driver’s license, insurance or registration, the responsible person must show it. If someone is injured or killed, the penalties are dependent on whether the crime is considered a felony or a misdemeanor. If a felony, the penalties range from up to one year in jail with a fine of not greater than $10,000 for a non-serious injury to two to four years in prison with a maximum fine of $10,000.
Folsom Car Accident Lawyer
I’m Ed Smith, a Folsom car accident lawyer. If you have been injured by a hit and run driver or if a family member has been killed, call me at (916) 921-6400. If you are outside the area, call me on my toll-free number (800) 404-5400. I will give you friendly advice that is free of charge.
The Million Dollar Advocates is a group that admits only top trial lawyers who can demonstrate that they’ve won settlements or verdicts of $1 million or more for clients.
To find informative pages on many types of personal injury law, go to my website, autoaccident.com, which I founded and own.
Photo Attribution: https://pixabay.com/en/squad-car-police-lights-city-urban-1209719/
:cd [cs 723 @ 7p] bw cv