California Seatbelt Campaign
California Seatbelt Campaign
I’m Ed Smith, a Modesto auto accident attorney. It only takes two seconds to put on a seatbelt and those two seconds could save your life. The Law Offices of Edward A. Smith encourages California residents to use your seatbelts each and every time you get in a vehicle.
Click It or Ticket History
“Click It or Ticket” first debuted in California over 10 years ago. In 2005 when the campaign started, seatbelt use was at 92.5 percent. That number has grown to a record high of 97.4 percent in 2015, that means there are over 1.5 million more people putting on their seatbelt when they get into a vehicle.
Law enforcement officers throughout the State of California are looking for both passengers and drivers who don’t buckle their seat belt. If you get caught not wearing your seat belt you could face a minimum fine of $162 for an adult. That cost jumps up quite a bit if a child under the age of 16 isn’t properly restrained, that $465 ticket goes to the driver if the parent isn’t in the vehicle.
Buckle Up Every Time, Day or Night
The next time you load the family into the car for a quick trip to the store, school drop off, or a family road trip, do so safely! Every time, day or night. Don’t risk the lives of your children or yourself, buckle up! It’s the law! As an adult, wearing a seatbelt is a very simple procedure. For children it tends to be a bit more confusing. It’s not as easy as buying a car seat before your child arrives and being good until they’re ready to sit in a regular car seat. There are many different types of seats for children and as such it can get very confusing. California laws have changed in regards to how a child is restrained in a car seat.
California Seatbelt and Car Seat Information:
- Children 8 years and younger must be properly secured in a car seat or booster in the back seat.
- Children 8 years or older or who are 4’9″ and above must be secured by a seat belt in the back seat of a vehicle.
Changes that Go Into Effect 2017
- Any child 2 years of age or younger (Unless a child weighs over 40 pounds, or is over 40 inches tall) shall ride in a rear-facing car seat.
Car Seat Facts
- Children’s car seats do expire.
- If you’re in an accident, check with your car seat manufacturer for replacement protocol. In a majority of cases, the car insurance involved will replace the car seat. Even if it wasn’t occupied at the time of the crash.
- Never submerge the straps of a car seat in water. If they need to be cleaned, use a damp rag with a very mild soap.
- Keep in mind the weight and height limits for your child’s car seat. As they grow their seat may need to be upgraded.
- In 2013, 638 children under the age of 12 were killed in motor vehicle accidents. More than a third of those children were not properly restrained.
- In 2013 approximately 65 percent of the 21,132 people killed in auto accidents were men.
- Properly used seat belts and child safety seats are the best way to help you and your loved ones survive an accident.
- Seat belts have saved an estimated 12,174 people in 2012.
- Nearly half of the occupants in 2013 accidents who died as a result of their injuries were not properly restrained.
- In 2012 if all passengers had been properly restrained, an addiction 3,031 lives could have been saved.
Modesto Auto Accident Accident and Wrongful Death Attorneys
I’m Ed Smith, a Modesto Auto Accident and Wrongful Death Attorney. If you or a loved one have been hurt or have passed away in a motor vehicle accident, please contact me at (209) 227-1931 for free, friendly advice. I can be reached toll-free at (800) 404-5400 for free, friendly advice.
Read more about us here.
Founder of Northern California’s top informative automobile accident and personal injury website, AutoAccident.com.
Sources of California Seatbelt Campaign:
Image Attribution: http://www.nhtsa.gov/PEAK